The Physicians Foundation’s Leadership Award Program

The Physicians Foundation’s Leadership Award Program
By: The Physicians Foundation
The Physicians Foundation’s Leadership Award Program honors the next generation of physician leaders by recognizing new and early career physicians for extraordinary actions in their practice or community. Award recipients will receive a scholarship to elevate their efforts to address drivers of health (DOH) or advance innovative solutions to make their communities or practices a healthier place for patients and physicians.

Nominations will fall into the following two award categories:

Dr. Buz Cooper Award for Addressing Drivers of Health

In alignment with the Foundation’s work to recognize and act on challenges related to DOH, this award honors a physician who has gone above and beyond to connect their patients with the social, economic, educational and environmental resources that they need for their overall health. The award’s namesake is Richard (Buz) Cooper, MD, author of Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform.

Medical Innovator Award

Physicians are stewards for high-quality, cost-efficient care. This award recognizes a physician who has innovated and successfully implemented a new solution to strengthen the physician-patient relationship, support their medical practice’s sustainability or navigate the changing health care system.

(learn more)